The bitter past
(Book)

Book Cover
Status
Geneva Public Library - First Floor Fiction
FIC BOR
1 available
Honeoye Public Library - New Adult Fiction
FIC
1 available
Livonia Public Library - Adult Fiction
FIC BOR
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Geneva Public Library - First Floor FictionFIC BORAvailable
Honeoye Public Library - New Adult FictionFICAvailable
Livonia Public Library - Adult FictionFIC BORAvailable
Macedon Public Library - Adult FictionFIC BORAvailable
Ontario Public Library - Adult FictionFIC BORAvailable
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

More Details

Format
Book
Physical Desc
pages cm
Language
English

Notes

Description
"In the tradition of Craig Johnson and C. J. Box, Bruce Borgos's The Bitter Past begins a compelling series set in the high desert of Nevada featuring Sheriff Porter Beck... Porter Beck is the sheriff in the high desert of Nevada, north of Las Vegas. Bornand raised there, he left to join the Army, where he worked in Intelligence, deep in the shadows in far off places. Now he's back home, doing the same lawman's job his father once did, before his father started to develop dementia. All is relatively quiet in this corner of the world, until an old, retired FBI agent is found killed. He was brutally tortured before he was killed and clues at the scene point to a mystery dating back to the early days of the nuclear age. If that wasn't strange enough, a current FBI agent shows up to help Beck's investigation. In a case that unfolds in the past (the 1950s) and the present, it seems that a Russian spy infiltrated the nuclear testing site and now someone is looking for that long-ago, all-but forgotten person, who holds the key to what happened then and to the deadly goings on now. Praise for The Bitter Past "A thrilling and assured debut, Bruce Borgos' The Bitter Past is at once a high stakes tale of high treason in the high desert and an unflinching examination of the lasting scars that even the coldest of wars can leave behind."-Chris Holm, Anthony Award winning author of The Killing Kind and Child Zero "A crisp jolt of cask-strength, 100-proof writing." -Craig Johnson "Vividly set in Nevada's high desert, The Bitter Past is an emotional story about the steep cost of doing the right thing. Bruce Borgos tells a gripping tale with vivid characters at a breakneck pace - I can't wait to see what Porter Beck does next!" -Nick Petrie, author of The Runaway "Bruce Borgos' new mystery checks all the boxes: A stunning opening chapter, fascinating characters, plenty of action, intriguing story lines, wonderful humor to offset the tension, and even a hint of romance. I was sorry to see it end." -Anne Hillerman, author of the Leaphorn, Chee and Manuelito mysteries"--,Provided by publisher.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Borgos, B. (2023). The bitter past (First edition.). Minotaur Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Borgos, Bruce. 2023. The Bitter Past. Minotaur Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Borgos, Bruce. The Bitter Past Minotaur Books, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Borgos, Bruce. The Bitter Past First edition., Minotaur Books, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.